Many people believe that advertising can have negative effects on customers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a universally acknowledged fact that advertisements are becoming an imperative part of our society. There is a school of thought that believes adverts are having detrimental impacts. I partially agree with the aforementioned statement and will elucidate my views in the below deliberation.

Advertising plays a crucial role in the marketing business. It provides people with numerous choices so that they can make an informed decision while buying a product. For an instance, a number of studies have consistently being performed that shows due to the advertisement of products through the portal of online media, there is a 25% boost in the company's net profit which will eventually increase the overall sale. Moreover, the broadcasting of adverts on television and radio, helps customers to save money, by informing them about a huge discount and combo deals.

On the other hand, advertisements will lead to consumerism and the direct target of industries will be children. As the younger generation has not yet learned the value of money, they pester their parents to buy products which they watch in any form of advertisements like TV adverts, leaflets or flyers. Furthermore, to quote an example, advertising junk food which is having a high content of fat and sugar will be harmful for the holistic development of the child. The government should impose a strict ban and introduce stringent laws for regulating such adverts that target children.

To Conclude, I support the notion that not all adverts will result in a negative impact, albeit they are some shrewd Industrialist which manipulate people for buying unnecessary things. Proper cooperation from individual and government can result in excellent consequences