Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is
having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in
society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment.
Discuss both views
The ever-increasing crime rate in the society is not just the consequence of the violence
portraited in cinemas now-a-days, but also prevalent due to the social issues such as
unemployment. This essay will discuss both these factors and also how it proliferates the
crime rate.
Cinema and television have been the most sought-after entertainment sources for the
public. The actors who act in the movies are admired by many, owing to which people
like imitating their actions. Although, an actor is just portraying a character, it influences
the common public to a great extent. Irrational individuals get influenced by violent and
crime related movies, and try to pull it off in real life. For example, a movie based on a
bank robbery named “Gangster” was released few years back, soon after that, a gang of
four people tried to commit the robbery. Once they were captured, they admitted that
their act was inspired by the movie Gangster. Therefore, Cinemas definitely motivate the
ones with a criminal mentality.
Another viewpoint states that, violence is a result of greater social concerns such as
poverty owing to joblessness. This is indeed one of the biggest reasons that drives an
individual to commit a felony. As per the recent study conducted by the state police
department on more than thousand robbers, 84% stated that they were short of money
and had to rob in order to survive. The act of violence that happen on the daily basis are
mostly self-intrigued.
In conclusion, both movies and social issues have a direct impact on the actions of
criminals, escalating the intensity and frequency of crimes.