Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment. How much do you think society is affected by violence in the media?

The rise in level of violence in society is considered by some to be largely influenced by the violent content shown in programs and movies. While others hold fundamental issues like unemployment, poverty and illiteracy responsible for this rise in trend. In my opinion, fundamental issues are indeed the root cause for such violence in country and media just plays a small part.

To eliminate this negative trend, it is extremely crucial to address basic problems in society such as lack of proper education and a well-paying job for citizens. Firstly, education gives a child a broader perspective and an ability to differentiate between right and wrong. It also helps in finding a decent job to earn living. An illiterate person, for instance, are easy targets for terrorist, powerful politicians and businessmen, as they can be easily manipulated and misused for personal or political benefits. Such people get easily influenced by the negativity in the surrounding and might consider it to be a normal behavior. Unemployment is another major problem, which needs to be addressed. Arranging basic necessities for survival becomes a challenge if none in a family is employed. Dire conditions might also push a person to a volatile state where they are ready to do anything from robbery to murder and can be easily bribed for a small amount of money. Hence, government must put all their efforts to create more job requirements, builds schools and promote benefits of education in every corner of the country.

However, media is also held responsible for broadcasting the idea of violence among citizens. Although, media runs with the idea to connect and entertain world, a medium to release all the stress after a hectic day. Everyone, irrespective of their generation and financial status, enjoys watching their favorite show on television. But sometimes people might get misguided by the negative content like fight sequences. A young kid or a person who is not that well educated or groomed might idealize this behavior and practice it in real life. They might as well teach their friends to do dreadful things. Hence, it’s important for parents to keep a check on what their kids are watching on television and computers.

In conclusion, having a checking on the content being broadcasted by media and government taking necessary steps to resolve fundamental problems is the solution to the violence in society.