Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for the country.

What are the reasons for this, what solutions can be sought to change the negative attitude ?

It is often believed that international tourism has a negative effect, on a country. The people who have this belief put forward several arguments in favor of this.

There are several reasons for this mindset. However, imperative steps can be taken to remove such false beliefs.

Those who are against cross-country tourism claim that places are becoming overcrowded, polluted with air, water, increases in crime rate, spreads across pandemic diseases.

Firstly, more tourists who make their own travel arrangements per their timely need, lead to more commutation, releasing more carbon. Secondly, influx of tourists plausibly increases illegal business, drug traffic, terrorism. In-flight child trafficking, is deeply affected. At a territory level, the chances of transmitting infectious diseases like Ebola, aids, swine flu increases multi fold.

Although the above mentioned arguments, are causes of concern, one should not undermine the very many benefits of touristy such as the vast economic progress. People of a country should be made aware of many advantages of entertaining holiday makers. As far environmental issues, they can be assured that more public transport can solve congestion on the roads which reduces carbon emission. Secondly, strict immigration laws and screening of visitors at entry points with limited visa validity period, can give protection to the nation. Thirdly, strict quarantine laws can prevent disease carriers from entering the country, thus reducing the threat of epidemic diseases. Dis-tractors should be reminded of the immense benefits that hospitality and travel sectors enjoy because of foreign visitors should not be forgotten.

These are the sectors which provide most employment to the locals. Big as well as small businesses will get a boost as in the case of ethnic fabric, jewelry and other hand-crafted items. Furthermore, infrastructure of the country gets a face-lift, in the form of improved roads, public transport and maintenance of historical places. As for the fears expressed by critics, government assurance to combat the drawbacks will put their minds at ease.

To close, although there is criticism against global tourism, this way of thinking can be connected by spreading awareness on its beneficial aspects.