Many people believe that newspapers are not necessary anymore. Others think newspapers have some benefits. In which extent do you agree, and give your relevant reasons.

In today’s world, the news is uploaded on the Internet easily due to the substantial development of technology. Most people think that newspapers now are becoming less and less necessary because of the up-to-date access to the e-news while others believe that newspapers are still important in many ways. From my view point, I agree with both views and will discuss the reasons in the following passages.

Firstly, newspapers now are probably less important to the younger generations. It is more convenient for the younger generations to access the news on portable devices. Due to news which have been uploaded on the Internet, young people can get updated information more quickly and more effortlessly. In addition, gadgets are usually small in size, which is better than newspapers, which must be expanded in order for people to read. Nevertheless, younger citizens are able to receive multiple types or “brands” of news. As a result, the information is more diverse. Last but not least, young generations can also give comments on the news, which helps in correcting or improving the news.

Secondly, on the other hand, newspapers are still necessary in some ways. For older generations, using gadgets to approach e-news is fairly disturbing. The lack of interaction with the gadgets of older people causes the issue that they don’t know how to use the devices, which leads to the difficulties of accessing news websites or apps. Moreover, as a result of the diversity of information, older citizens are confused and can not recognize if the news is confirmed or not, which lead to the point of misunderstandings. Furthermore, using gadgets to read news for a long period of time will cause eye problems easily, which is an annoying disadvantage.

To conclude, newspapers are not really essential to young generations because of the massive development in technology. For older people, however, there are definitely some drawbacks of e-news, which show that ordinary newspapers are still necessary. As a result, I strongly agree with both views.