Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on individuals & Society. To what extent do you agree?

With advent of social platforms, for instance Facebook, people started spending excessive time using them until many people realised its negative effect on individual people as well as on local societies. Although social media platforms owners claimed these platforms were to connect people globally, but in my opinion, I completely agree that these platforms have had damaging effect on individual people as well as on societies.

Excessive use of social media platforms, such as Facebook and Twitter, have adverse effect on people, not only mentally but also physically. Admittedly, people who spend a lot of time on such platforms are falling into depression, anxiety and obsession. Moreover, these kinds of platforms kill most of people’s time, hence people’s involvement in physical activities has reduced significantly, which is hurting their health status. Steps need to be taken to pull people back to pay grounds and other physical activities, so that they can enjoy a healthier life.

Another point to consider is that local societies are also not safe from negative impact these platforms are causing. Rather than people taking part in their local community, they are instead choosing to take more interest in people online. Consequently, people within local communities are not making supportive relationships. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming increasingly disjointed and ore fragile as people spend more time with people online.

To conclude, where social media platforms were supposed to play positive role in building societies, they are actually creating numerous social problems. Local communities need do more to try to involve people in social activities in order to promote the future of community life.