Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on individuals and the society.

To what extent do you agree?

The world today now has become like a huge cascade of interconnected cells due to the advancement in social media platforms like Facebook, MySpace and so on. In my opinion this leap of technology has badly effected on people from every walks of life.

Some people believe that spending time and money each and everyday on such platforms is a definition of their intellect and sophistication. They believe such platforms keep us connected but they spend inane amount of time everyday surfing through the mundane details of things which are neither useful nor knowledgeable. For example, the videos and information circulating on Facebook are often fasle and misleading which can impact negatively and create confusion. Supporters of social media deny that spending any amount of time surfing at one place has put people at increased risk of diseases such as diabetes and heart diseases.

I whole heartedly believe that such platforms are problematic for people at every age. Moreover, the increased risk of secuirty specially for teenagers meeting with people alone whom they have befriended without the knowledge of their guardians cannot be emphasised enough. The consequences of it can be horrendous. Additionally, people are so engrossed posting and interacting on such platforms they usually ignore their friends and family which inturn has negatively impacted the communities and inturn society as a whole. It is likely that such platforms can also distrupt the political campaigns as it was recently discovered.

To conclude, social media platforms are distruptive for every functioning of human lives such as social, health. I support that these have negatively impacted as individuals and society as a whole.