Many people believe that social networking sites (such as facebook ) have a huge negative impact on society.To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays everyone is available on social networking sites and it's becoming increasingly popular among all age group. While, some perceive this as a positive trend, others believe they have a negative impact on society. This essay shall provide evidence on why social networking is not entirely negative and absolutely necessary to keep up with current time.

Recently, people are too addicted to social media, that they fail to connect with the real world and are consumed by the virtual universe. They continuously strive to develop their online personality, and neglect their real life. According, to a recent survey, many people felt comfortable interacting with strangers online rather than meeting or socializing with friends. They base their success and beauty standards on the amount of validation they receive online. As a result, some find it very difficult to distinguish between what is real and what is not?

On the contrary, social media sites like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. helps you connect with like minded people. It provides a platform to not only share your thoughts and ideas, but also to give an opinion on hotly debated topics. For instance, a recent hurricane hit the south coast of India and due to social media the news spread like wild fire and within 24 hours timely aid began to pour in from all over the world, thus saving millions of lives. Moreover, this news also alerted the neighboring states and they were able to evacuate on time thus minimizing the loss. Hence, due to it's wide reach and easy availability many prefer using social media to spread awareness and awakening among society.

In conclusion, social networking is extremely vital to be aware of current situations. It is an open space that facilitates interaction and a medium through which people can hear and be heard!

Although, there are some down sides to excessive social networking, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.