Many people believe that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on individuals. To what extent do you agree?

Social networking sites have increased exponentially since the dawn of the 21st century. lot of folks opine that these sites have detrimental effects on users and society at large. I disagree with this statement and believe that social media has immense positive impact.

Social networking websites have opened up a new horizon of mass communication. Traditionally television, radio and newspapers were the only major options to address a large audience, besides these were generally closed for common man. With the technological advancements and creation of the new age communication mediums, layman is empowered to put forward his/her point of views. For example, sites like twitter provide an opportunity to directly connect to millions of users, whereby an individual can post his/her views without the help of any news agency or any middleman. Social networks are a real boon in bridging the communications gap.

Some critics argue that many people kill time using these social networking sites. Users often spend their precious time watching unnecessary content which decreases their productivity. Also a lot of people spend their entire day stalking the profiles of other users, this phenomenon is a breeding ground for a psychological condition named FOMO, Which is fear of missing out, where individuals feel and imaginary fear of missing out on exciting events occurring around the globe.

In conclusion, although social media has its fair share of demerits, the merits of the same outshine them. Furthermore it is the most effective medium for communications in modern time.