Financial education should be mandatory component of high school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today's world, it is generally observed that very few people have financial education. There is a growing debate on whether or not to make financial education mandatory in high school curriculum. This essay will discuss both the views and give an opinion at the end.

Supporters of imparting financial knowledge in high school provide various reason. First and foremost, it is necessary for improving financial literacy. Such an education would help the students in understanding how money works. Furthermore, it would also help them in making financial plan in future. In an uncertain world, as today, it is extremely important to make proper financial plans. Having sound knowledge in this field would help in finding right investments, and choosing right debt options so that one does not choke oneself in debt. Also, it helps avoid frauds. These days a lot of fraudulent companies operate to loot people, and knowing about them would help one avoid falling into their trap.

In contrast, some critics argue that students already have enough to study and adding this would put strain on them. For Instance, students already have 6 to 8 subjects to study and adding one more would generate additional stress. Secondly, they do not have mature minds to grab the concepts of finance. They lack the maturity to understand and inculcate financial education in their lives. Finally, financial education is a deep subject and needs to be taught in greater detail, and just superficial information would not serve any purpose.

In conclusion, i opine that, although there are certain demerits of teaching financial education in high school, the merits supersede them.