Many people believe that we have become a 'disposable' society, throwing things away rather than repairing them and reusing them. Why do you think that is? What are some of the possible problems this can cause?

There are arguments to suggest that people have become a great consumer of products without the initiative to recycle the old items, which are not functioning anymore. There are reasons behind this trend and a considerable number of repercussions in the society.

Primarily, it could be argued that the advent of technology has an enormous contribution to the attitude of some individuals about personal equipment. It is often claimed that some factories have adopted the use of machines in manufacturing products such as appliances and cell phones, therefore they can hasten the reproduction but with low quality. Some businessmen have gathered the raw materials to other countries, which may provide frugal spare parts. Because of the cheap materials, these shop owners can decrease the price of their products that could be amenable to the public. Furthermore, there is a strong argument that asserts that the behaviour of the mankind has changed in this contemporary period due to advancement in technology. For instance, some people might not be so eager to bring their defected instruments to the repair centre because of the new model that may arise in the market.

On the other hand, it is widely believed that there are negative effects of being nonchalant about the possibilities that a non-functional product could be use again. Firstly, it would contribute to the pollution because those products are certainly made from plastic and hazardous chemicals. To illustrate, a stock of cell phones cannot be disposed of easily through incineration. It would be a difficult problem if there was a surplus of those personal goods. These cell phones contain batteries which are deleterious to human’s health. Secondly, there is a view that this trend might be adopted by the next generation since the progress of technology is inevitable. For example, some youngsters might acclimatise to the view and habit of the seniority, thus this trend will be handed to their next offspring.

To conclude, the advent of technology and the cheap products have piqued some people to be dissuaded from reusing superannuated items. It is the environment and the virtue of the next generation that will be affected by this trend.