Some people say that in our modern age it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Skills of handwriting involve craftsmanship, artistic way of presenting letters and require a great deal of time and practice. Since a student is more likely to type rather than write on a paper for the rest of his life, I do not believe that it is prevalent in the modern era where computers are used both in the academic and professional arenas.

To begin with, a neat and speedy handwriting was a criterion for academic success in the past, but not anymore in this digital era. Assignments, classwork, tests and other school activities are mostly done on computers and this is why a student needs to grasp the skills of computing and typing more than presenting immaculate letter formation on a paper. To illustrate, I have submitted around three assignments during my last term and all of them were submitted to my teachers' email addresses, not a single one was handwritten by me. Besides, time invested in honing excellent handwriting can be better utilised in mastering more important subjects.

Moreover, the use of computers and the Internet in offices is a common trend. An employee is expected to be an expert computer user, and immaculate handwriting is not a requirement to be hired by a company. Ironically, better penmanship has little value in a world surrounded with technology. Considering the future, when computers would be more predominant, parents and teachers should focus more on teaching technology to students than instructing how much a letter should be stressed or curved!

To conclude, academic activities and professional needs in this era or technology bound students to have skills in computers and this are why it would be more practical to enhance their technical skills rather than handwriting- which has already become less important.