Many people choose to copy celebrities seen on TV and in magazines. Is it a positive or a negative development?

It is an undeniable fact that nowadays celebrities lifestyle has a great influence on the lives of common people and they tend to follow their favourite celebrity a lot. Some people consider it as a positive growth however, I feel this imitation has a detrimental effect. I will be discussing my views and reasons in the subsequent paragraphs.

It has a big impact in the changing lifestyle of teenagers and youngesters. There are plethora of reasons to support my viewpoint. First of all, it affects their pockets as in order to copy a popular face, they spend a lot of money in buying similar clothes, accessories and other possessions wore by their favourite star which are way expensive. Moreover, sometimes a popular star endorses some life taking products that can have noxious impact on one's life like tobacco, liquor, cigarettes etcetera. However, in reality celebrities themselves do not consume or use these products but they encourage other people to use them.

On the other hand, some people feel that celebrities also motivate people to contribute in the growth and development of nation. For example, they encourage people to cast their vote during elections. In case of any natural calamity, they appeal to the people to come forward to help those who are in need. Celebrities can also alter orthodox mentality of many people. Celebrities can be used to spread awareness among people for various issues like education, healthcare and other human rights.

To recapitulate, a celebrity affects a lives of many people he or she should kept in mind not to encourage something which will bring a negative impact on nation as well as someone's life.