Water is a natural resource that should always be free. Governments should ban the sale of bottled water.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Water is the most essential commodity for the survival of human beings. Maximum percentage of water has been polluted due to the increasing population and interference of human activities in the environment which ultimately gives rise to the manufacturing of bottled water. It is a topic of moot whether government should prohibit the sale of packaged water or not. I oppose the view of banishment on water bottles and will cast light on the reasons impending in the subsequent paragraphs.

There are plethora of reasons supporting my view. Amongst all, first and foremost is availability. Many places still can be found on planet where clean drinking wated is hard to find and in such areas bottled water act as an ambrosia for the people. Moreover, water coolers and water taps at the public places have never get cleaned up very often so folks prefer to buy water bottle which gives them a sense of satisfaction. Other than this, it is a source of livelihood for many people as factories or industries in which these bottles have been manufacturing give employment to many labourers. It was clearly seen the survey conducted, setting up of bottled water manufacturing factories gave employment to 15% unemployed. Thus, it increases employment as well.

Some other reasons also favor my point of view. For example, water are portable and can be used in the emergency situations when any calamity occurs. Government supply water bottles and packaged food to the people affected in that particular area. Apart from all these, contaminated water also give birth to water-borne diseases such as cholera, diarrhea etcetera. Thus, It is also necessary to keep in mind while drinking water whether the water is impure or clean to drink. Last year, it was a headline of one of the newspapers that almost 40% people fell sick in Bihar due to drinking contaminated water. Thus, bottled water should not be banned as it is the only substitute till today.

To recapitulate, clean water should be available at free of cost and government should find substitute of clean water for public. Till then, bottled water should not be banned.