Many people now live in societies where comsumer goods have become cheap.

Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

The widespread usage of low cost products by people all around the world has become a frequent subject of debate in today’s life. This alarming trend has a number of pore and cons. However, for some reasons that I will discuss through this essay, I believe the advantages are more than disadvantages.

To begin with, if we take the view that all people has the right to use any things that they want, it is logical to defend the idea of less expensive products. Foods, as an illustrative example, is one of the main needs of individuals. The more cheap ingredients, result in more quality of meals, and even the number of meals. According to statistics, nowadays, more than one portion of the world population is suffering from starvation. Another example is clothes which is a vivid example of consumer goods. As a matter of fact, cheaper goods means less budget on consuming products, while more money could allocated for education or recreational activities such as traveling.

On the other hand, lower price of goods might encourage overexploitation. Materialism trend poses some serious threat to the world. Environmental damages will always be considered as a drawback which causes some major problems. To illustrate, production of cheap furniture needs more consuming materials such as wood or iron. To meet the demand of market, manufacturers have to exploit more natural resources such as forest or mines. In a long term prospective, the dearth of resources will be a significant concern.

In conclusion, all mentioned points lead to a concrete foundation which indicates that while production of cheaper products brings a new set of concerns, it is also true to say that there are more perks associated with this trend. Given this situation, it seems that government should prepared a solid plan to prevent those potential problems.