When people live in a foreign country, they should follow local traditions and customs. Do you agree or not?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are migrating to the countries than ever. This raises questions about the integration of newcomers into society. While some people believe immigrants should keep their culture, I think this idea that people should adapt to the culture of the host society is more justifiable for certain reasons.

To embark on, it is undeniable that immigrants will experience a culture shock phenomenon once they moved to a new country. According to many psychologists, the most practical way to tackle with this issue is that immigrants to merge themselves into a new culture with all traditions and customs by adapting to all customs and rituals. This manner not only relieve the pressure and stress of this feeling but also give them a sense of community.

Furthermore, outsiders might have more chance of success when they have a willingness to integrate into new society by accepting and following its custms. For example, they are more likely to make friendship or connection at workplace and get a promotion. Finally, respecting other cultures is a considered as a behavior of well-matured and open-minded people who are eager to experience the diversity of culture and getting to know new traditions.

Admittedly, it is true that immigrants should maintain and value their culture and convey it to next generation. However, culture assimilation expand the host culture by introducing new ideas, new expertise, and new cuisines which benefit both the society and non-native residents.

In conclusion, based on aforementioned explanations, it is justifiable that outsiders should accept new culture with all customs, tradition, and all unwritten rules if they want to either make progress in their career or friendship to live more easily.