Many people prefer to read the news on a screen (smartphones, tablets, laptops), fact that has relegated newspapers to a second option.

For this reason, there is the common belief newspapers will disappear sooner than later.

Do you think this will end up happening?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Write at least 250 words.

It is quite right to say that with the acceleration of technology, old methods are becoming obsolete. Today's era is of more sophisticated technology. Computers and internet are considerd to be a great revolution, major impact of it can be seen in the mode of news as more and more people these days have started to read news digitally rather than on papers. As far as my opinion is concerned, I believe that in coming years, newspapers will disappear.

First and formost reason of it is that reading news on screen would help in cost saving. Albeit a low cost is involved in purchasing newspaper but still if we see the collective effect of it, It is definitely going to save a plenty of money. Furthermore, it is very easy to read the news on laptops, computers and even mobile phones. One can access the news just at the click of one button and there is no need to find a shop for newspaper when we are travelling. Accordingly, it be accessed at anytime and anywhere which ultimately reduces the importance of paper based newspapers.

Moreover, Robustness is the another cause for increasing usage of e-papers as compared to the physical newspapers. For instance, we can get an instant alert of any important news within no time wheras it is not possible in paper based where news are printed in one day and published and distributed on the next day. In addition to this, there are multiple applications such as Times of India, The Tribune etcetera which one can install on their mobilephone. So, it is a very convenient way to access the information. Besides, physical papers leads to a wastage of resources. There should be a restricted usage of papers considering environment safety.

To recapitulate, there are some serious consequences of using paper based newspapers instead of online newspapers. Therefore, it is beneficial for the individual and society at large to get indulged in reading news through screen mode and it is even seen that many people are already doing so. This ultimately will contribute to the complete bycott of newspapers.