Many people prefer to spend money and not save it. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is an undeniable fact that financial management is of fiscal importance for the betterment of society. Majority of the people find it challenging to manage money. Even though they might be good in other curriculum, however, fiscal literacy is not taken care of very seriously. That is the reason many people end up spending more and later regret about not saving it.

Firstly, with the development of technology; there are many easy options available for an instant loan. To satisfy their instant gratification, people take loans at very high-interest rates ending-up in a long-term debt situation. For example, the smartphones on EMI are readily available on online platforms; instead of paying extra interest on the principal amount, one must save enough and buy in future.

Secondly, the marketing tactics used nowadays, persuade the customer emotionally and easily. The words like "Sale", "Offer", "Cash-back", are overly used to attract more customers. People get influenced by these tactics and end up buying the product, which might not be required at the present moment.

Thirdly, with the surge in social media users; people posting vacation pictures and things they own; encourages other people to experience the same. Many companies sponsor in terms of money or goodies to post about their product or service experience to generate business for them

Jim Carry (American Actor) quoted, "I wish everyone becomes rich and famous, and people realise it is not an answer." In my opinion, one must save enough for an unprecedented situation. Spending more and not saving it can result in the negative financial development of society.