Many people prefer to travel by car rather than buses or trains.

Why do you think this happens?

What can government do to motivate people travel by buses or trains?

In this globalized world people prefer to travel by their own cars or customised taxis rather than opting for public transport to reach a destination faster. No doubt travelling in cars can save time but it can also be a major threat to the eco system. In this essay, we will discuss about how government initiatives can encourage more use of public transport.

Firstly, let us discuss on what why individuals prefer to travel by car. Cars are more convenient to drive exactly to the destination, there is no need to walk. buses and trains run on schedule and if a person is not time sensitive, then he/she will not be able to board. For instance, if there is a family of four who wants to visit a mall on a weekend, they go in-car rather than bus as the price of ticket for four costs the same as car price.

However in order to help the public, government can have several bus stops in different area. Along with this, they will also have to reduce the cost of tickets in public transport and increase the price car parking area tickets. When there is less or no space for parking cars, people opt for alternatives. Well, a ruling party can also work on improving the footpath beside the road which will help men/women to walk easily towards the destination.

I would like to conclude that use of public transport not just benefits an individual but also helps the society to grow. this in turn helps in maintaining ecological balance by reducing pollution.