Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer To what extent do you agree or disagree

Whetther globalisation has brought advantages or represents a negative process is still up for debate. Many people claim that that harful threaths like pollution and climate change have to be linked to globalization and multinational companies. If industries play surely a pivotal role in interfering with the atmosphere, the question whether the whole process of globalization should be regarded as the only responsible of natural calamities, remains open.

In order to develop their economy and guarantee their citizens high standards of living, governments have allocated enormous resources to subsidize industries. As a result level of carion-dioxide have been soaring during the last decades causing or being critical to worsening the greenhouse effect. Meanwhile large companies have become even bigger, merging together and giving birth to multinational companies, which operate in overseas countries and have outbranches all over the world. Some people have a negative attitude towards them, accusing of destroying the enviroment.

Some companies like those involved in gaining raw commodities such as petrol, gold or rare earth metals are responsible for some of the most detrimental natural disaster. Oil spills, for example, happen sometimes, ensuing detrimental effect on the coastal environment and endangering the marine ecosystem. It is hard to say and accept but this sometimes the price we have to pay if we want to conserve the current standard of living. Those accidents occured in the past too. Big difference now, people have developed a profound interest in environmental issues urging companies to reduce their carbon footprint.

On the other hand, the silver lining of multinational companies is that they are without any doubt a powerful source of development and are the largest employers in the world. Many of them like Microsoft have changed the way we live, communicate and work, by launching revolutionary operating systems and making computers affordable for almost everyone. Others, like General Electric produce high-end medical machines and develop cutting-edge drugs and technologies to tackle letal deseases. Furthermore multinational companies help to improve the economic condition of underdeveloped countries by building facilities and eventually hiring local work force.

In conclusion, if ot is true that the spread of globalisation and the rise of multinational companies play a part in the climate change, the benefits brought by these industries outweigh to me the downsides.