Many people think that important things in life are free and can not be bought.

To what extend do you agree and disagree with this statement?

The popular African saying that there is nothing free even in Freetown seems to illustrate that humans must pay a price to get anything worthwhile. However, some people consider things that are really of great importance in life free. Personal, I sincerely think that nothing important in life is truly free of charge.

What is important in life may vary from one person to another. Nevertheless, the fact is that while many human wants are dispensable, basics needs, such as food, shelter, and clothing are sacrosanct. In this 21st century, are these necessary things without charge? They surely come with some costs, no matter how little. The cost of an average accommodation in Lagos, for example, may be from as low as 30 dollars to as high as 100 dollars depending on location and number of rooms. No matter how contented one needs to be in life, there are certain things in life one cannot do without, and these things require money.

Some people may reason that true happiness cannot be bought, which is true to some extent. While happiness in itself does not have a price tag, the road to achieving it comes with some costs. How many families living in penury are truly happy today? One can only be fulfilled when one achieves some set goals in life. These goals may include acquiring good education, securing a satisfying job to cater for the need of the family, or even reaching a great height in one's career. Without a doubt, achieving these requires hard work and sacrifice, which involves some financial commitment.

To sum up, there are certain things that humans need in order to survive, thrive and be happy. I completely believe that one cannot meet these needs without spending some money.