Many people think that some individuals are naturally good leaders. Others think that people can learn leadership skills. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It has often been said that good leaders are born, not made. However, an opposing opinion also exists, which is that the skills required to become an effective leader can be acquired from experience and training. In this essay I will examine both of these viewpoints and provide my opinion on the subject.

Depending on the situation, it may be argued that certain leadership skills are inherent and cannot be learned. A clear example of this type of skill is high intelligence and other cognitive skills. If a person hopes to become a leader in a business or academic environment, they will need to master some challenging subject matter before they can be accepted as a leader, and to do this they will need a certain degree of inborn intelligence. The abilities that made Steven Hawking a leader in theoretical physics were there at birth. Another inborn leadership trait is extroversion. Many famous presidents, like Barack Obama and Nelson Mandela, were extroverts. It is generally accepted that extroversion and introversion are inherent aspects of our personality.

However, there are certainly a wide range of leadership skills that can be acquired throughout our lifetime. Among these we can include the ability to communicate effectively, the ability to motivate people and maintain a positive attitude, and a sense of duty and responsibility which inspires trust in other people. All of these can be practised and perfected through theoretical study and through real-world experience.

In my opinion, the range of characteristics which make a great leader is too wide to be able to definitively state whether these skills are inherent or learned. Much will depend on the situation and on the particular individual. Overall, it is most likely that the greatest leaders possess a combination of both types of skill set.