Many people today use their phone for sending texts more than talking? what are the reason for this? Are there more advantages than disadvantages?

In modern days, sending messages from a smartphone is widely popular than voice or video call due to myriad individuals choosing to do that. Two most common reasons behind this are SMS are cost-effective and development of messaging apps. Even though there could be some disadvantages, but advantage outweigh disadvantages as the clarity of conversation than talking and time consuming.

Firstly, call costs are higher than texts, as most of the phone company charges more for voice calls. So, when it comes to spending money people usually choose the less costly option to communicate. For example, in Bangladesh per minute call charge is 1.60 tk whereas per message cost only .65 poisa. Another fact is in the markets, there is various kinds of messaging applications which has a number of attractive options such as emojis, GIF, stickers. Thus, it is quite famous, especially among young people. For instance, a documentary shows that the new generation is more likely to use texting apps because there are different kind of option to express their feelings. This is why the popularity of sending texts is higher.

Moreover, the trend had several advantages, namely, it is time consuming and a clear option of communication. Typing a message only takes a few minutes and rather than writing a full sentence an emoji could do the work perfectly. On the other hand, speaking on the phone does not have this facility. To give a clear example one can express he/she is happy by sending happy GIF which takes only a moment, however, when taking he/she need to say the whole sentence. In addition, the conversation is clearly understandable while sent as an SMS. An example is network problem is really common around the world as a result receiver may not hear the sound properly, which could create misunderstanding where a text is a clear-cut for communications.

In conclusion, an increasing number of people prefer texting than calling. Overpriced call rate and smart apps are reasons for this. As it takes less time to send text and clarity of conversation this process has more advantages than disadvantages.