Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits.

International sporting events held after every three to four year all over the world. A large number of people travel across the world to support their team during the event. Some people argue that these events bring prosperity, enthusiasm, entertainment and business for the hosting nation. Others claim that it could have dire consequences and severe negative effect on the lives of local people.

Firstly, sporting tournaments play a pivotal role in strengthening the economy of the organising country. Numerous tourists and visitors attend these events to support and lift up the morale of their teams. Local people observe a dramatic rise in the sales of their goods and services.

Secondly, sport is a source of entertainment and fun for its followers. People get the chance to meet and enjoy the performance of their favourite sports star. Thirdly, it provides an opportunity to meet new people and understand their culture and traditions that could substantially decrease the tension between the people of rival countries. International sporting events also popularise a country to the world and thus the potential tourism industry of this country gets benefits from that.

However, it is often seen that people burst out as their team lose the match that could exacerbate the situation in the ground and make it a battlefield. Additionally, congestion, adequate accommodation and visitor’s safety are the few issues that are caused by these events. During 2010 football world cup in Brazil, a record number of thefts and stolen cases were reported. To tackle such problems required enormous funds and detailed planning. Not all sports can attract international visitors and fans and thus many of these sporting events cost a lot while earning a little.

To sum up, I would like to say that international events help in minimising tensions and create stronger bonding among many nations. Successful occurring of event really helps in thriving the country’s economy and provides adverse advantages to its citizen. However, it also has some problems but that can be handled by imposing strict rules of laws and educating people.