Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities

Does this situation have more advantage or more disadvantages?

A majority of people now work for longer hours resulting in inadequate time for leisure. In my opinion, working for long hours can bring more problems compared to any advantage it might have.

Admittedly, there are some basic benefits derived from working for extended periods.

Firstly, people engaged in such are often more productive. These practices enable them to add extra input in order that deadlines are met. This is especially prevalent in developing countries, where jobs are scarce and workers are not afforded adequate protection by existing labour laws. As a result, people work longer than necessary to safeguard their jobs. Secondly, more work attracts more monetary benefits. Many companies have overtime policies in place, and this ensures that staff are rewarded for putting in extra shift at work while augmenting their take-home salaries.

Despite the positive aspects above, working for long hours without making time for recreational activities has serious drawbacks. One potentially dangerous problem is the risk of fatigue or burn out. Most People are often exhausted after work to engage in any muscle relaxing activities, and failure to do this can be detrimental to their physical and mental wellbeing. Another obvious issue is that it affects social and family life. Family outing times, dinners and relationships are some of the things that suffer when people work longer. Thus, it is not uncommon to suffer from broken homes.

In conclusion, suffering from burn out and having social cum family issues greatly outweigh any minor benefits derived from working for long hours.