Some people think that the development of technology helps reduce crime, while other people think it encourages crime. Discusses both side and give your opinion.

It is argued by some people that the advancement in technology will help mitigate crime. Others, however, believe it supports criminal activities. I agree with the first view because the advent of major technological gadgets has assisted in detecting crimes before they are carried out.

The use of technology in crime prevention by security operatives is developing rapidly and such can be seen in their use of gadgets, such as digital cameras that are mounted on roads in some countries, and drones that are flown over some cities. These gadgets while being monitored by authorities help in facial recognition and in detecting of criminals with negative intentions. An instance is in the UK where over 15,000 cameras, deployed and placed in locations by the government, have helped reduce intentional criminal activities by 40%.

While the technology has made it possible for operatives to detect possible threat on citizens before they are implemented, it has however made it easy for fraudsters to carryout their illegal activities on social media platforms. Criminals with the use of some technological gadgets now go online and dupe some individuals of huge amounts of money, by cloning their credit cards. For instance, my cousin, who is a novice with using point of sale machine (POS), was unfortunately dupped #50,000 by a fraudulent man, who claimed he would help him make withdrawals.

In summary, although the ease in the use of technology may aid crime, it will in the long run help out in reducing it if it is used in the most positive way.