Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities.

Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Majority population around the world are busier than ever putting long hours at work and spending little time with their families and also missing out on their hobbies. This trend has more drawbacks because it might affect them mentally and lead to health problems.

In the first place, when we put long hours at work it will exhaust us both physically and mentally even though this is true it will also start to build a certain stress which might affect you in a long run. In reality human brain can only function 10 hours per day if you work more than this it will create a impact on your wellness. To demonstrate, many people who work in a Software industry don’t have a fixed time on their schedule, which limits them from having a leisure activity like going on a walk or play a sport. According to the survey people who do this kind of desk jobs are potential risk for obesity, diabetes, and heart related issues.

In many European countries there are strict rules on working hours, they believe that a normal person can only work 40 hours a week very efficiently. Also, employer should provide 6 weeks of paid vacation per year to their workers this approach not only boosts employee satisfaction but also allows them to be more proactive at work. In a recent survey from Microsoft corporation in japan they found out that their employees are more productive during short weeks. So, this has led to a 4 day per week work system, interesting findings from this survey is many people who were at risk of diabetes or stress related diseases where dramatically reduced.

To summarize, Due to increase in competition at workplace and fear of losing a job lead to long working hours. Many of us need to understand that everything has it own consequence, for suppose in this case we might lose out on spending time with family and also health. Finding that right balance between work and life is most important thing in our lives..