Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In today’s high paced global world, work pressure has risen. For that reason, the tendency of working late hours has increased in organizations, sparing little time for relaxing activities. I believe this situation in the long run has more demerits than merits.

On the one hand, competitiveness in the working environment is insisting people to work for more than regular working hours. The main reason behind this is that company goals are at times unrealistically high, putting more pressure on employees, and eventually they become bound. This occupied situation leaves less time for leisure activities, and as a result, mental and physical health detreats. For example, a survey carried out in New York Magazine on obesity concluded that around 70% of obesity comes from desk jobs. For that reason, working long hours has more negative impacts than positive ones.

One the other hand, working long hours makes people workaholic. The more they work, the higher reputation they are able to achieve in organizations. Normally, management appreciates the people who go an extra mile for their assigned duties. For example, a private company conducted survey on promotions in last quarter concluded that 70% of the people promoted were working for longer hours. The higher focus towards work is indeed vital for professional growth.

To conclude, work-life balance is getting hampered in today’s competitive world. Many people bound themselves in offices for early completion of their work. This leads to their low physical and mental health. A balance should be maintained for a positive life.