In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about this?

In today’s world, there is a growing concern with regards to the rapid growth of population in urban areas and the shortage of available spaces for building new homes for them. Considering some probable drawbacks, a wide range of individuals in whole societies state that it is vital to preserve countryside areas and avoid constructing new building blocks there to provide accommodations required in big cities. I subscribe to the idea that not only this approach is undeniable, but also it would be beneficial by means of strict regulations.

The people who are opposed to building homes in rural areas state that this process would deteriorate the environment. They hold this view that construction in countrysides would eventually result in deforestation or demolishing farmlands. Although this commonly held belief might be valid in some cases, overcrowded cities filled with buildings and lack of accommodations might bring about considerable threats as well.

First and foremost, the exponential growth of population is an unavoidable fact of the modern world. Industrialization and technological advancements have made dramatic changes in urbanization. It attracts more people towards living in big cities. As more a country developed, more workforce was required in its capitals and other major cities. Therefore, the urban areas of these cities have become saturated with people and buildings needed for their accommodation. Accordingly, the governments nowadays have simply no other option but to utilize the rural areas in order to create homes for their community.

More importantly, dividing business parts of a city from its residential areas have noticeable benefits as well. This approach can reduce the overcrowdedness of urban areas and decline the traffic jams which are mainly caused by daily commutes. In doing so, the air quality of city areas will ameliorate to the great extent which is a tremendous environmental achievement.

Taken together, I firmly hold the view that using suburbs for generating new homes is imperative for modern societies and would improve the quality of life by reducing the excessive population living in a city and also would decrease the air pollution. However, in order to protect the countryside’s environment, strict regulations and close surveillance should be imposed on construction activities in these areas.