In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion?

The role of housing is widely debated with some people claiming that it is more essential to construct new houses in rural areas that to preserve it. However, I personally do not accept this, and I will explain why in this essay.

Firstly, I believe that it is more important to conserve the percentage of agricultural land , especially in places with high population density. This is because it can help in securing the required amount of crops for human consumption. For example, In 2015, research conducted by Cairo university showed that we need to have more farmland by 30 % because of our population growth. As a result, preserving rural areas can protect us from the risk of famine. Furthermore, we have to consider the environmental effects coming from destroying the countryside by building there. As a consequence, gas emissions will increase leading to an exacerbating in the pollution levels.

In addition, I feel that building houses in rural areas is less economically beneficial than farming it. The reason is that these farms can be used more than once a year to produce different crops, which will generate more profits and secure more jobs. For example, a report published by world newspaper in 2016 clarified that profits coming from the agricultural sector are 30 % higher than those coming from the construction sector in the United Kingdom. Therefore, Constructing in the countryside should be banned by law in order to help our economy. Finally, the psychological effects of destroying the countryside should be taken into consideration. That is to say, it can have severe consequences on the mental health of people to reduce their chances in enjoying the picturesque view of farms.

I do appreciate that some people think differently, saying that it is better to construct more homes on farmland, while securing enough houses is essential, of course, I feel this is a potentially unwise viewpoint.

Overall, I believe that protecting the countryside is the wiser course, not just for economic and environmental reasons, but also for its psychological importance.