In many societies, elderly people often live in retirement homes. This is not appropriate because families should always care for their aging members. Do you agree?

It is considered that elderly people should care by their family and not to live in the retirement homes. I completely agree with this opinion and think it is a responsibility for a family to care their aging members.

First of all, elders need someone to take care of them and they especially with it could be their family or someone they know. As all the human will get old one day, they are not able to work and even some of them suffer from illness. At this period of human life, elders might feel frustrated and lonely, so I believe that family is the best carer for them and can support them more than living in a retirement homes.

Secondly, sending elders to live in retirement homes is a way that have someone to look after them, but there are some retirement homes operating without a professional license. It could let elders live in dangers as we do not know what is happening when they are in retirement homes. For example, there was a news found a video record that a 75 years old elder was bullying by a staff in aged care centre, because he vomited food several times while the staff fed him. It was a shocked news. So I believe family¡¦s care is better than aged care centre.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that it is not appropriate to send elderly people to retirement homes as elders generally wish to be together with family and the uncertainty of professional quality of aged care centre could lead elders in danger.