Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, the advent of technology has revolutionized all bearings of life, from production to transportation, media,etc. Everything has become automated under the buttons. This has largely dispensed with the need for manually working especially housework which is now no longer a big obsession for many people coming home after a long busy day from workplaces. This essay will prove that the merits of this advancement outweigh its drawbacks.

It is common knowledge that machines in daily work are playing a greater and greater role which is undeniable on human life. First and foremost, it's very time-saving and convenient, instead of taking a lot of time and effort to do housework we can utilize them in other imprative tasks. For instance, by using electronic devices such as washing machine, vacuum cleaner, and dishwasher at home, women can now save more of their precious time with family, in particular, strengthen bonds between family members as well as custody of their children. Individuals can complete work in less time with more efficiently. Their workloads will be also dramatically reduced so they can spend time to rejuvenate themselves. Accordingly, the quality of work is improved with a high precision . considering it’s machinery works. For example, because machines work more accurately than humans, the home equipment like the screwdriver, mixer grinder, juice maker does the work more accurately.

Nonetheless, despite of multifarious advantages there are few negative points and a tremendous demerit of using machines for house tasks is that the development of labor saving devices has ‘contributed’ quite a lot to obesity, especially among housewives. According to the research by the University of Manchester and Royal Holloway University the average female now spends almost 20 percent less time on chores than her counterpart in the early 1980s. Advances in technology with labor-saving appliances such as microwave ovens, dishwashers have helped women work less, and the implications are that their growing waistlines are growing. Consequently, this arises different health issues like obesity, heart and muscular pains among people who rely on machines.

To sum up, everything is like a corn having two sides similarly machines have both good and bad sides. . It’s up to us to decide and practice using machines at home with most cautions and balance. Machines at home can make our lives more comfortable and convenient, but the act of considering the cost of health is recommended.