many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time and have health problems as a result Why do many working people not get enough exercise What can be done about this problem

Since the past decade, well-being of individuals is something that has been receiving a lot of attention. Majority of the labour force, which include daily wage workers, software professionals, engineers and so on, often spend time in watching movies or just lying on the couch in their leisure time. As a result, lifestyle diseases namely Diabetes, Cardiac problems are not very uncommon these days. In this essay, I will discuss the root causes and the potential solutions to get this behavior fixed.

To begin with causes, lack of work-life balance and disinterest towards physical fitness are found to be the major reasons behind this ignorant behavior of working professionals. Due to tight deadlines, people often overstretch themselves to deliver on their committments leaving a narrow boundary between personal and professional lives. For instance, software professionals often work for 12-14 hours a day even though the law prohibits the employers from doing so. Another reason is lack of interest in physical activities during their leisure times. Working people are usually tired with their assignments from workplace, thereby prefer to stay at home that leads to sedentary lifestyles. In a recent survey, 70% of the working force agreed that engaging in activities such as watching movies, playing mobile games helps them relax than sweating at gym.

While these behavior induced challenges seem to be deeply rooted, it is possible to address if the working people enrol themselves into paid fitness programs and join health awareness clubs. To promote overall health of all the individuals, many startup companies have already come up with flexible fitness packages based on the working style of the individual. To exemplify, there are wellness packages that focus on early morning Yoga for people who work in mid-day shifts. Likewise, options like dancing, zumba are being offered for people who do night-shifts. It is a common tendency to be more attentive when money is involved so paid packages could really force the individuals to dedicate time for exercises. Also, joining the local health clubs helps the individuals to know the available options to pick from so that they turn out to be more health conscious.

To recapitulate, decreasing interest towards participating in physical activities is detrimental to the overall well being of the working individual. If the above discussed solutions are implemented, it could definitely reverse the trend and contribute to a healthier society.