Maths and philosophy are needed to make it as optional due to its difficulty level. Do you agree or disagree?

Even though many schools emphasise on teaching different disciplines in a curriculum, the subjects ,such as mathematics and philosophy have always been subject to the question that whether to make it optional.

Since schooling is meant for an overall development of the students , it seems illogical to make elective mathematics and philosophy from the syllabus and that is illustrated below.

Mathematics , nevertheless , is scary for many a person , the application of this subject is seen in everywhere even in a person's day-to-day life; thereby , this engenders the need to include it in the syllabus of education till secondary level. Making mandatory to learn arithmetic helps a student to imbibe knowledge in basic numerical calculation , where such information could cater to handle finance of an individual to , so that it equips him to even run financial institution. Besides acquiring numeracy skills , learning mathematics is also considered meeting the requirements of a people to be called as 'functionally literate', as it requires the skill of reading , writing and basic algebraic calculations. As such , the more students learn maths , the more it benefits in their future.

Furthermore , philosophy , though , are more inclined to encourage the young ones to assimilate better outlook of life , it mainly deals with rational capability ; whereas many people feel this as a Herculean task to learn by them. Students need time to understand the topic , although they are at their best age to learn up's and down's of life , while broad-based education enables the young ones to engage to absorb the essence of philosophy , which this could evolve them to scale new heights in their living standards. Considering philosophy as a non-obligatory topic neither improves standard of living nor absorbs better perception of life , and hence , if the authorities provided provision to discrete philosophy from their curriculum , it would not be beneficial for students in their near future.

Overall , ostensibly , philosophy as well as mathematics is inextricable from the day-to-day activities of students , because it not only helps to maintain finance but also aids to cope the changes of life. Finally , if the subjects had not learned compulsorily by the pupils , it would not have been advantageous for student's lives.