Men do most of the high-level jobs. Should the government encourage a certain percentage of these jobs to be reserved for women?

What is your opinion on that?

Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

You should write at least 250 words.

The rapid industrialization throughout the 21st century resulted in the start up of multinational companies across the globe. The statistics reported by the Financial Times in September 2015 claims that 90 percent of the top level positions are occupied by men on an average across all companies. Although, I believe that women must be prepared to take over higher positions, I refute that some proportion of top level jobs to be reserved for women.

Firstly, a company can expect a catastrophic failure in if any top level decision goes astray, especially if the decision involves multi-billion dollars. For instance, a big finance firm named ABC based in Germany went bankrupt in the second quarter of 2014 due to a wrong decision by its president, who was promoted to the top position based on reservation. Moreover, the board of directors need to scrutinise the top posts with extreme care based on his or her merits, irrespective of gender. Therefore, it is obvious that the top positions should not fall under the reservation policy.

Secondly, ignoring an efficient person to fill in a new position leads to discrimination and engenders the lack of motivation among the employees. For example, if a person is simply promoted to the top post, leaving behind the capable colleagues, there are high chances that the colleagues, who think the decision is not fair, will not work efficiently to their calibre. As a result, it is the organisation which loses the productivity. Thus, the top positions should never be reserved based on gender or any category

In conclusion, by analysing how reservation can lead to poor decision making as well as decrease productivity, reservation should not be in place for top posts. Governments should ensure that they give enough focus to empower women and head positions should be filled in based on merit irrespective of anything.