Modern appliances in the home have become more common, leaving no doubt that advances in technology have improved our lifestyle.

We started living in a cave, as the history suggests, and thanks to the novelty and advancement of modern technology that we now live in a grand apartment with many facilities which were unimaginable even a century ago. From an uncertain life where our ancestors had to deal with constant fears of darkness and lurking predators, we have a remarkably comfortable and advanced lifestyle and this has all been possible due to the innovation in technology.

It is often argued by many that modern technology has given us comfort but has cost us dearly. As an example, they point out that we have become less active and more dependent on machines, especially on the household appliances. According to them, this is a backwards step and apparatuses cannot improve our lifestyle. What they fail to realise is that the blessing of science has eradicated many deadly diseases that had often wiped out cities and made us vulnerable like ants in the water. Advancement in technology is not a one-dimensional straight line, it is a spark of light and without it, we would still be at the mercy of natural calamities. People may blame science for the contamination of food or the advent of fast food, but it is worth mentioning that without science, we would have a world war for the food crisis.

The household appliances like washing machines and vacuum cleaners have reduced the manual labour of cleaning while rice cookers, microwave ovens, coffee makers and electric kettles have improved the way we cook at home. We no longer need to end our day when the sun sets as electric bulbs illuminate the world. Thus it might be easy to criticise the innovation and wonder the science has brought to our life but living without them is utterly impossible. For instance, imagine what the world would be without the electricity, refrigerators, TVs and the internet. Unimaginable even for a day.

To conclude, it is undeniably true that modern household appliances have made our tasks easier, faster and more accurate. With this, we have a better lifestyle and more time to spend with our family members or to enjoy our leisure activities.