Modern lifestyles mean that many parents have little time for their children. Many children do not get as much attention from their parents as children did in the past.

With the passage of time, there have been tremendous changes in the behaviour and consequently the lifestyles of people, especially the young and working couples. Yet another factor which has played the role of a catalyst is the ‘materialistic need’ of the human in the ever-changing pattern of living in the modern times. Due to such unrealistic expectations from the life, the parents have started devoting much of their time towards satisfying their materialistic needs at the cost of the ‘precious gift’ that they have been blessed with, by the Almighty, their children.

Children, for their parents, are dearer than fine opals, more precious than Emeralds! However, due to the discontentment in the life of parents, it is the innocent childhood which has to pay a heavy price.

In the yesteryears, even though the means of livelihood were limited but the quality time spent with children was enough to boost confidence amongst them and make the children a successful and a matured individual. However, in the modern times, though there has been a manifold increase in the means of livelihood, but the price at which such an increase is achieved is negatively skewed. It is the children who are devoid of the, much needed, attention which they truly and rightly deserve.

In a recent interview published in the local tabloid, the renowned choreographers of the famous band, OPEXA, did share their own experience wherein they blamed themselves (husband and wife) for the unhealthy upbringing of their children which ultimately led to their children becoming victims of drug abuse. In the end, I agree that though there is the need to adapt according to the modern lifestyles and requirements but the same must not be achieved at the cost of innocence, love, warmth and tenderness of one’s children.

The childhood, after all, is as sacred as the temple, as holy as the bible and hence should be re-lived, re-enjoyed by the parents of the children.