Some believe that global warming is the most pressing environmental problem which we have at the moment; others believe that deforestation has a more devastating impact on our world.

Ever since the dawn of industrialisation, world’s environment has been changing in a drastic manner. Many of these changes are of negative nature. Some argue that global warming is the most serious environmental issue that we deal with, while others contend deforestation has a much more damaging impact on the earth’s environment. Both sides of this debate will be analysed in this essay before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

On the one hand, global warming has raised the average temperature of the Earth by several degrees over the last few centuries, which has a myriad of negative ramifications for the inhabitants of the planet earth. For example, the continual rising of sea levels has put cities such as London, UK and Rotterdam, Netherlands on the brink of being drowned by deluges. As a result, governments have to devise new measures to keep such disasters from wiping out these cities entirely. Hence, it is argued that global warming is the most serious problem our planet encounters.

On the other hand, many believe out of all the ecological problems, deforestation leaves the largest environmental footprint on Earth. For instance, each year thousands of trees are being cut down in China to fuel the furnaces in industries to support their economy, which in turn has disturbed the balance of carbon dioxide in the environment. Since carbon dioxide is a toxic gas, the respiratory problems in China have reached an exorbitant level in the recent decades. When looking at the discussion in this light, the devastating effects of deforestation are obvious.

Since both sides of this argument have indisputable virtues, it is impossible to say that one issue leads to more problems than the other. Thus, it is hoped that both the individuals and governments will take noticeable steps to counter the rising ecological hardships, this world is facing.