Money should be spent on creating new public buildings such as museums or town halls rather than renovating the existing ones.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that governments should utilize funds for the well-being of the citizens of the country. Some individuals believe that resources should be directed towards constructing new public buildings such as museums or city halls, rather than renovating the existing ones. I completely disagree with this view. In my opinion, government should focus on renovating the existing structures as these may have a historical significance and public sentiment attached to it and may be cost efficient. In this essay, I will support my opinion with examples.

First and Foremost, many of the old structures may have a historical story to it's existence. This is because, most of them were built by ancestors which showcases their culture and traditions. To cite an example, the TajMahal in India, which is one of the Seven Wonders of the World, was built by Shah Jahan, in the loving memory of his beautiful wife. Hence, governments should invest in protecting and improving such monuments as they may be a source of tourist attraction. In other words, old structures are valuable source of history and may help the government raise revenue.

Secondly, building new museums or community halls requires not only manpower but also materials such as cement, steel, equipment etc. The cost of such materials required is huge and increasing on daily basis. This is because of inflation that impacts all countries over the world. To illustrate, concrete for one bag in the past was 10 INR. However, today it costs 45 INR. Hence, construction costs may be huge. As a result, renovation is likely to help the governments invest excess funds in developing other important areas such as rods. In short, renovation may help government in utilizing funds in other required areas also.

To conclude, I firmly believe that, governments should investment funds in renovating old buildings as this may be of historical nature and cost of renovation may be less expensive when compared to constructing a new structure.