More and more companies are allowing their employees to work from home rather than going to office each day Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Today’s technological advancements have made the workplace less of a physical venue and more of a virtual space, with companies increasingly enabling their employees to work from home. In my opinion, the benefits of this trend largely outweigh its disadvantages.

For employees, working from home reduces travelling time and increases working flexibility. Worsening traffic congestion and threats of road accidents in major cities over the world make the majority of workers find daily commuting frustrating and demotivating, hence affecting their job satisfaction. Meanwhile, many claim to be more creative and productive when working at home, being released from management scrutiny and unnecessary workmate chatting. For business owners, such working arrangements are financially beneficial in terms of savings on timekeeping, office space as well as utilities expenses. They can, in addition, access applicants who are from more geographically remote areas. Environmentally, home working contributes to mitigate air pollution since less travelling means less carbon dioxide emission.

Although opponents to teleworking might argue that it encourages laziness and negligence as home workers would allow personal chores to interfere with work, recent management strategies have assisted employers in effectively controlling employees’ performances without having them in sight. These include establishing performance indicators, conducting occasional review meetings and employing real-time reporting platforms. Home working employees therefore are well motivated to ensure their job deliverables, while feeling trusted and embraced by their leaders.

In conclusion, I believe a shift away from office to home as a work base is inevitable, considering current socioeconomic factors. Companies who wish to take advantage of this movement will have to apply appropriate management measures in order to maximize its benefits for both owners and employees.