More and more companies produce goods in the factories located in different countries other than the location of the head office. Does this development has more advantages or disadvantages?

An ever-increasing number of organisations generate products in the manufacturing plants situated in different nations rather than the location of the main office. This trend is more advantageous as it assures increased opportunities for employment to workers in other countries as manufacturing units will be located in various parts of the worlds. This essay will discuss the most significant advantages of this phenomenon, and will also demonstrate the way in which the merits outweigh the demerits.

To embark with, Using separate places for head office and manufacturing is beneficial for both the company and for the workforce of a country. Usually, most of the organisations would choose to build factories in areas where the economy is not rising in order to cut its costs by employing an affordable workforce. Moreover, people of that locality will get jobs and thus, this strategy will benefit companies and people of under developing countries. For instance, Himachal Pradesh is a state in India that provides a tax benefit to any company which would wish to set up their business there. Consequently, the job opportunities in the state rose dramatically, and now the native residents do not have to move to other places for work.

However, if a corporation prefers to have a single location to manufacture products and maintaining a head office, the cost of owning such a big piece of land in the city centres would affect its running costs. In addition to that, the presence of factories in the main parts of the city will also elevate pollution levels and will make the living conditions adverse to its inhabitants. For example, Bejing is well known for its high pollution levels due to the advent of industries situated there.

In conclusion, the pros of using separate locations for the main offices and the processing plants are highly beneficial. As they do not only open doors for employment to individuals of other nation, but also helps to maintain contamination free environment in cities.