In Countries where unemployment is high, education should be obligatory up to primary school and not secondary school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that nations which suffer from the issue of job scarcity should make elementary education mandatory instead of tertiary education. However, this essay completely disagrees with this assertion because a low-level schooling will seize the chances of getting employment from other countries or pursuing entrepreneurship.

To embark with, having a basic schooling will only keep the citizens of a nation performing menial jobs such as daily wagers and part-time workers. Since the workforce of the nation is unskilled in due to the lack of higher secondary schooling, it is unlikely that multinational companies will opt outsource their work there, and the countrymen will be deprived of foreign work opportunities which would otherwise have solved the problem of job scarcity in the country. For instance, because India has a large number of highly skilled engineers, many tech giant such as Google, Facebook and Apple have outsourced their work to India which has resulted in increased job opportunities to the youth of the country. Thus, having a skilled population can even provide job opportunities from other nations in case a state does not have ample employment chances.

In addition to this, high level education can make individuals to set up new businesses rather than becoming job seekers. As an example, a person who has a MBA degree can start and run a new business proficiently in case one does not find any work opportunity in the corporate world. In this way, people not only become self-sufficient to earn their living, but they also generate work opportunities for others.

To conclude, the idea that primary schooling should be made imperative in underdeveloped countries is preposterous as it would only limit the job prospects of such states and the nations will remain underdeveloped the many more years to come.