More and more people are finding it increasingly important to wear fashionable clothes.

Is this attitude to wearing clothes a positive or negative development?

In today’s modernized world, where societies around the glove is giving enormous importance to latest and trendy attires, especially due to influence of western world. In my opinion, this is a negative development affecting younger generation emotionally, financially as well as from health perspective. In this essay, I shall presents banes of the fashion industry on an individual as well as on the society.

Firstly, fashion industry has ingrained psychological dependencies on the society in a way that it resulted in a form of addiction towards it. Furthermore, such enormous importance of fashion on society requires people to get in shape, similar to zero shaped or highly fit celebrities, which requires people to go on strict diet and strenuous workouts which can impact health of people who look for fast results. Secondly, following trendy fashion needs a lot of money to be invested. Consequently, people who cannot afford such a luxury, might either financially overburden himself or feel a sense of envy towards his fellow citizen. Thirdly and more importantly, following western fashion in conservation societies might result in various social issues. For instance, in a country like Saudi Arabia it is highly unlikely for woman to openly practice western fashion. If they do so, might result in social problems.

On the other hand, following fashion does have certain pros such as, it keeps society updated with global trend. Moreover, it helps an individual to adapt to different cultures. For example, if at all a person plans to work for multi-national country or plans to migrate to foreign land for job or study related prospects then his taste towards fashion can come handy.

To conclude, in today’s time, younger generation is blindly following fashion industry and considers it to be incumbent criteria to look good. Above all, enormous amount of money is being spent on it. Such an attitude is morally incorrect resulting in various social issues both on individual as well as on society. Therefore, an optimum level of fashion must be acquired by society.