More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems do this cause? What do you think are the possible solutions?

A growing number of people in developing nations are buying their own vehicles for the first time. While this is a sign of affluence, it can have a negative impact on the environment.

The main issue associated with the increasing numbers of vehicles is high levels of carbon dioxide emission. Since developing countries have significantly higher population than developed countries, when more people drive cars there the result is a harmful increase in air pollution. Needless to say, there is a dramatic increase in the incidences of respiratory ailments. For example, the major cities in China are suffering from serious atmospheric contamination, and the WHO reported more than five thousand cases of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome and 300 deaths in many nations in 2008. The majority of them were in China.

Making public transport more reliable and cheaper is the most effective way to discourage the excessive use of private vehicles. Another long term solution to this predicament is to educate young people about the dangers of air contamination by exhaust gases from automobiles. Children in schools could be taught about how to reduce the problem. They are also likely to teach their parents about the things they learned at school and adults will also be influenced by this initiative. For instance, students in Netherlands were taught about consequences of driving their own car in a reckless manner, and now the number of drivers has declined. Furthermore, the most preferable transport for Dutch people is bicycles and using public transport or carpooling is common means to travel.

In conclusion, a growing number of people are driving their own vehicles, and this is leading to severe air pollution. The most effective method to tackle this issue is to wake up young generations to the dangers of the poor air quality.