More and more people no longer read newspapaer or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

In modern era, internet has become more popular to get news throughout the world. Fewer people read newspapers or watch news on TV. This is a positive change and this will be discussed in following paragraphs.

Firslty, traditional ways of getting news like newspaper needs paper and for that lots of trees cut down annually, which is environmentlly unfriendly. Internet helps to reduce the demand of newspaper and this may lead to less demand of paper. Ultimately, this may reduce the damage to the woodlands. Moreover, it may be bit difficult to carry newspaper eveerywhere. But internet provides an opportunity to read enewspaper anywhere and anytime through electronic gadgets like smartphones. Furthermore, sitting infront of TV to watch news is luxury for many people thesedays as they may have very tight schedules and watching news on mobilephones while travelling or in office may be very convenient.

However, reading newspaper may give a satisfaction for many people. For example, many adults specially elderly like to read newspaper in the morning while having a sip of tea in the balcony or garden of their homes. Digital platform may not provide that comfort and relaxing feeling. This may be the same with the watching TV for news such as sitting on the couch or sofa infront of TV set and drinking tea or coffee with the evening snacks may have a different feeling for many which they may not get through mobilephones. Additionally, digital plateforms such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram may spread fake news means these may be less reliable as compare to newspapers.

In conclusion, this may be true that internet has changed the people's preference that how to get news and this is a good development for environment and for individuals, despite of having some good points of traditional ways of getting news.