More people are spending their free time watching movies, why is this? Is it a good or bad?

Technology has revolutionized the entertainment industry. Affordable mobile phones with a high-speed internet connection have resulted in this sudden growth spurt. Moreover, watching television has been one of the favorite ways to spend time. Both the availability and liking for television has will further boost this positive trend. Excess of everything is bad so does the excess movie watching.

A Few decades back, in a country like India, the ratio was one television to ten households and broadcast was limited to 6 hours a day on a single channel. According to a recent survey by the Industrial body, it has climbed up to 1 per household. Forget televisions; everyone has a multimedia telephone. Also, there are numerous channels with 24*7 broadcast. Of late, many mobile applications like Amazon prime and Netflix provide latest movies with variety of genres, which enables people to watch their favorite films easily. Thus, the availability of content and ease of access is the primary reason. The second reason is the status symbol. It means, among the millennial watching the number of sitcoms or movies has become the criteria to judge a person.

Indeed, it is a wrong habit. Children are prone to addiction. This ultimately negatively impact their academic performance. Furthermore, health issues come along. A recent article in the major New York daily stated that 8 out of 10 American children are suffering from obesity. The article also blamed the television for the same.

To conclude, affordable access to the most-loved time pass has caused long hours of movie watching. In other words, it is a derivative of the technological revolution; however, it has resulted in worse than good. The only beneficiaries to this movie production houses and processed food manufacturers.