Employers sometimes ask peoples applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views

Although many people consider that the details collected by an employer regarding the marital status and interests is useful, others consider the opposite. In my opinion, an employer must get these details from the candidates for the job, to know about them, but should not make a selection decision basis this information.

On one hand, some people believe that the personal details, such as hobbies and interests or marital status, collected by an employer is useful. They sat that these details help an employer to know more about the personality of the candidate they are interviewing. These can be even useful to see if the candidate is the right fit for the team. The candidate can be very skillful but would be an outlier in the team with regards to the age and marital status. Thus, may not get well along with the team members and may impact the working environment.

On the other hand, some people argue that a candidate may exaggerate their interests to impress the interviewer. Further, it is believed that it would be unfair if a candidate is not selected just because of the martial status. Eventually this may result in rejecting a skillful candidate and selecting a dumb candidate, whose performance doesn’t match the requirements of the job.

In my opinion, it is difficult to judge a candidate basis this information as the candidate may not state the correct information. Thus, importance should be given on the facts such as University Education and work experience.

In conclusion, people may vary in their opinions, I think that the employer should get the details to get better understanding of the candidate but should not make the selection decision basis these details.