Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in

many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be

required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women.

To what extent do you agree?

In many companies, strategic level positions, such as directors, CFO’s and GM’s are occupied by men despite the fact that women hold more than 50 percent jobs in many developed nations. I don’t agree to the suggestion of fixing a quota of these position based on gender to women only. The main reasons are lack of relevant skills for such jobs and encouragement of gender discrimination.

It is true that the women hold more jobs than men in many developed nations, however it does not necessarily mean that they have the relevant skills for high level jobs. Many important job roles require, strategic and management skills which may not be possessed by majority of women. Having more number of jobs simple does not imply that all women are holding management jobs. Fixing the quota or percentage for such roles may result in many positions being vacant due to lack of relevant skills. For example in Pakistan many women do not pursue accountancy qualifications, if the quota is fixed for high level accountancy roles , there would be shortage of skill and the position would remain vacant.

Secondly, allocation of a predetermined number of positions will encourage gender discrimination as the selection may not happen on the merit basis. This would demotivate the employees of other gender i.e. men. If a percentage is fixed for women, there are high chances that a male applicant who is more skillful may not be selected and this may also result in un-employment of skilled people. For example, in a Sindh province of Pakistan, a quota is fixed in universities of Karachi for rural areas due to which many deserving students in the urban areas don’t get the admission.

In the conclusion, I would like to state that, fixing of quota for any type of job will definitely employ more women, however it may lead to inappropriate hiring of staff due to a lack of relevant skills, further more it may encourage gender discrimination and also cause demotivation in men due to unemployment.