Most people accept that we now live in a globalised world but not everyone agrees that this is beneficial.

To what extent is globalization a positive or negative development?

Globalization means interaction and integration among people, companies, and governments worldwide. It is commonly believed by many that we live in a globalized world but some people believe that it is not advantageous to us. However, I believe that to a great extent, it is a positive development and to lesser extent it has some negative impacts.

To begin with positive developments, Globalization has increased the job opportunities for young generations. Further multinational companies give us the opportunity to navigate different countries around the globe. This further, helps in exchanging the culture and traditions with different countries. For example, foreigners working in USA must be aware that Christmas and Halloween are the famous festival of US citizens and likewise outsiders who work in India knows that Diwali is the national festival of the country. Through globalization, foreign companies contribute to the country’s gross income. Thus it helps in the development of countries. For example, the famous Japanese mobile company had recently launched its division in India, thus it will benefit India right from construction till it starts earning revenue.

Let us discuss some negative development factors, one of the major negative impact globalization is loss to smaller businessmen’s or local companies. Since everyone wants to work in multi-national company because of better opportunities and facilities, due to this sometimes smaller business faces closure.

In conclusion, there are few negative impacts of globalization such as loss of business to local businessmen’s but it has more positive developments such as, more employment opportunities exchange of culture and traditions. Along with that, it contributes a lot towards country development.