Most people believe that stricter punishment should be given for traffic offences. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, the number of vehicles on the road is increasing day by day and as a result, there is obviously an increase in the traffic. While some people believe that traffic violations should carry more rigorous punishments, others believe in lenient punishments for violation of traffic laws. I completely agree that the traffic rules should be strictly followed, and favour a strict penalty for any offences.

The main reason I advocate stricter implementation of the traffic rules is because the consequences of traffic violations is not only suffered by just the driver, but many innocent people also suffer because one person’s mistakes. For example, if a driver enters a no entry zone or drives on the wrong side of the road, there is a very high chance of an accident. If any such incident occurs not just the diver but the other person involved in the accident would also suffer due to the offender’s mistake.

In developing countries like India, the wide violations of traffic rules causes a lot of traffic jams which affects the commute time, fuel consumption, environment and many other areas of daily life. For instance, many people would park their cars on the ‘No Parking’ area of the road. This is a very simple rule which can easily be followed, but as the fine associated with this offence is petty, most people don’t bother about it and park their cars wherever they feel comfortable. As a consequence, there is a lot of traffic congestion in the populated areas of the city.

To sum up, traffic rules play a vital part in our day-to-day lives and traffic violations not just affects the offender, but also the other people involved. So I personally feel that traffic rules should be strictly implemented and offenders should be punished with harsher punishments.